Good affordable 5 string bass for recording?

Josh Burgess

Feb 18, 2008
Tampa, FL
Thinking about getting a 5 string bass to have around for recording and looking at a few... here's criteria:

1. playability
2. good hardware and hopefully good sounding stock pickups
3. not too expensive... think mid-priced used. I'm mainly a guitarist. Just want a bass to have around.

Really looking at the Spector basses... maybe picking up an older used NS2000/5 or used Euro 5 LX.

But I'm keeping options open, and although I don't really like Schecter guitars, the Schecter Elite-5 looks like it might be a pretty nice bass for the money... what do you guys think? Anything else in particular I should be looking at?

The Spector Euro is a fantastic bass. It has a big, fat neck and the sustain is unreal (not that sustain is all that important in a bass instrument - to me anyway). It has a really nice growl to it, which really matches well with an Ampeg SVT type of sound.

I used to have a Peavey Cirrus 5, which was also 35" scale. It played really well too, but I wanted something a bit more aggressive sounding, and unfortunately a pickup change wasn't going to be possible as Peavey use proprietary pickups, and something like EMGs wouldn't fit without routing.

So after a ton of research, I decided on a Spector Euro 5LX, and I couldn't be happier!

Spector Euro, you won't regret it - tight low B, punchy, even volume across all strings, solid tone. If you can't get a Euro, go for a Legend classic - they are beasts and cost around half of what a Euro does!!

Spector Euro, you won't regret it - tight low B, punchy, even volume across all strings, solid tone. If you can't get a Euro, go for a Legend classic - they are beasts and cost around half of what a Euro does!!