Guitar Impulses: how many at once?

Dyvan13

New Metal Member
May 28, 2012
I'm a newbie when it comes to mixing, but I am on my merry way.

I've got a decent drum and bass guitar sound, now I'm onto the electric guitars.
So my question is, how many amp sims should I use on a single guitar track? I'm using the good ol' LePou plugins and cab, paired with the TSE 808 overdrive pedal for that extra oomph.

I downloaded a MAMMOTH pack of impulses that another member put on this forum. It includes all the guitarhack, catharisis, and JJ impulses which seem to be very popular. Where do I even begin haha? I plan on quad tracking my guitars, 2 hard left and right, 2 soft left and right. I've got a decent but mediocre sound so far just with plinking around with em all.

Thanks in advance! And I am also THRILLED with the LePou plugins. It's awesome, I couldn't ask for a better amp sim.

Could you link that impulses link ? :)

For the impulses, I only use one per stereo bus.
If quad-track, 2 impulses : Impulse #1 with 100% Left+Right (stereo bus) and Impulse #2 with ±75% Left+Right stereo.
I'm a noob tho, but this method works flawless for me.

Thanks guys! Alas, I had to search through pages and pages and pages to find that download.... and I don't remember where it was...

It's really a matter of personal taste, sometimes using several impulses on different tracks will create a fuller sound, sometimes I even stack up two impulses on one track (in lecab) because it creates a special sound.