guitar megathread

ekka

Nov 11, 2005
I'm new to guitar but was wondering if i could get tips on how to play most opeth songs. I thought this forum needed more guitar related threads.

Questions :
1) Favorite songs/ riffs to learn on guitar - again by opeth.
2) Any tips on learning opeth songs - i read the sticky describing power tab and guitar pro but any tips that i may need to learn full songs.
3) fingerpicking!! arggghhh should i try most of the acoustic riffs with a pick or with should i finger pick them.
4) and is there a place where i can get the tab for " when day descends - adaptive " or anyone willing to help me learn the song? :p

thanx in advance all!

ekka

you played guitar how long? Opeth's song basically is not for beginner IMO.
some of them are quite easy and some are damn hard.

as I don't know your guitar skills level.

1. Demon of The Fall(quite easy and fun for playing it)
2. Actually many powertabs and guitar pro are meant to be full song tabbed or you want to learn a song by yourself then you have to have a precise ears because opeth uses alot weird chords and it's not easy to learn with and actually I watched an old video interview with peter and mikael, Mikael demostrate The Drapery falls and saids some chords he actually don't know what chords are they."
3. for those Opeths acoustic tracks you probably needed to use fingerpicking techniques and some heavy track's acoustic riffs(like, some riffs in Demon of the fall, you have to use pick to approach it)
4. sorry, I can't help with this question

:) good luck and I hope that what I said can help you a little bit

opeth songs are not as hard to play as they seem... at least most of the riffs are pretty basic, the challenge comes when putting'em all together and playing the song start to finish... my favourite to play is prolly the moor (incidentally, my fav song too :p)..advent is really cool, too

Yeah, you can never have enough guitar threads.