Which song to learn on guitar?

Dec 27, 2006
I realised the other day that I can play several songs by many of my favourite bands, but have never learnt an Opeth song, and so I thought I'd really like to give it a go.

I was wondering if anyone could avdise me on which song I should learn? I'm not really worried about them being too hard, as I've been playing guitar for 6 years, and apart from the solos and some of the tricky fingerpicking acoustic bits I wouldn't have too much trouble with playing Opeth songs.

I was looking for advice on which songs people have the most fun playing, which songs transfer well to a single guitar, and can still sound good without the bass and drums? Thanks a lot

Hasn't Orchid got many twin guitar melodies? I guess they'll still sound good with only one guitar.

The most fun songs they have IMO are Leper Affinity and The Funeral Portrait, both of them actually sound good with just one guitar too (unlike most of the older stuff). Godhead's Lament and Demon of the Fall are also pretty fun, as are most of the things on GR (but those all require extensive retuning).

Now I know parts of many Opeth songs but due to many of the songs complex nature.. I dont any all the way through.. apart from "The Leper Affinity".. so I totally recommend you learn that - there is a great power tab for it on Ultimate guitar :p...Many brilliant riffs in that song!

Btw Bleak is not the best experience for learning..you cant really replicate its goodness with one guitar (there is two of harmonies being played at once alot of the time.. it feels empty without them)

+1 for The Leper Affinity, very fun song to play.
Karma is also a killer.
Serenity Painted Death is pretty cool, especially the rythm muted part with the harmonic but the lack of a 2nd guitar can be frustrating.
If you're leaning on the acoustic side, Credence, Hope Leaves, Benighted, the intro to Dirge for November, Patterns in the Ivy I&II, Still Day... are the most fitted IMO.

Have fun. :cool: