How has your "Sound" changed over the years?

aytchster

Jun 30, 2010
This could be from a mixing, production or even songwriting stand point. Since I'm no engineer, just a songwriter/producer I'll speak from the those sides of things.

I guess that the best way to put it is that I've gotten more in tune with tying in the elements of the song structure and the production elements together in a way that works better for the final product rather than to justify my eagerness to utilize a specific patch or whatnot into a song. I think my "sound" is definitely still in pursuit, I'm not sure I've reached or I will ever reach THE sound because then after that what's the point, right? haha.

On specifics, my guitar tones are getting more mids cranked in them...drums are uber compressed (I've had this disease since childhood)...bass tones are inspired by a skunk's ass but somehow work :lol:...and I've started to sing for just over a year now so that's added a whole new dimension to songwriting and production!

I guess that you engineers and producers out there would have lots of interesting answers to this!

Hadi

My writing has gotten more delirious, chromatic yet whole-toney. My mixes have gotten slightly fuller, in that I'm not as terrified of the low-mids as back when I used to make very trebly mixes with untamed low-mids.

Almost everything I wrote in the beginning was death metal and I used way too much gain on the guitars (but never scooped the mids :D )
My drumsound was sooo shitty, you won't believe it, I never used distortion on bass and went more for a hifi basssound.

Nowdays, writing wise, I tend to write more riff orientated stuff, even the songs are more technical and complex, loads of inspiration from
red seas fire, arma gathas, and sick of it all, just to name a few. And I write alot on my acoustic guitar, even hardcore stuff or without
an amp, used to write everything while blasting it through my 4x12.