How intense are Opeth shows?

Guitarist13

Most Original Username
Jan 17, 2003
Richmond, VA
www.acerules.com
Hey, newbie here...

I'm planning on going to the show in Springfield on Tuesday, and this will be my second concert (out of any band). I'm only 15, so I'm not the strongest guy in the world, so (not to sound like a pussy), do Opeth shows usually get pretty dangerous in terms of moshing, etc? I know that in a room packed tightly with a bunch of experienced metalheads I would get slaughtered in the midst of the energy. I know i probably sound really dumb but I have no experience with Opeth concerts whatsoever, so any reply would be appreciated...

Well - my 1st Opeth show will be Saturday. But from what I've gathered from watching the bootlegs, although there is energy, I don't think you'll get your ass slammed to the ground.

I've seen Opeth once before, and there was no moshing at all. There were some people getting a little "excited", or headbanging, or whatever, but everyone was keeping to themselves pretty much. It was nice just being able to watch the band do their thing without having to worry about some fat guy reeking of BO smashing into you.

The intensity at an Opeth concert, I would imagine, comes from the inside, when you realize you are experiencing the greatest band in the world LIVE. :)

Oh, I totally agree Metalmaster!

Last year, Nevermore played right before Opeth and the crowd was nutty. After that, Mike and Pete came on stage and started plugging stuff in and then there was Lopez sneaking in the back playing with the drums a bit. ((ANTICIPATION BUILDS!!)) Mendez comes over and plugs in, Mike's greets the crowd and.. ((Moonlapse Vertigo opening))

Every cord every beat you've ever poured over coming out of your speakers is now pouring over you and everyone in the room is either just
stunned.gif
or
wideeyed.gif
. It's fkn great, man. YOU'LL SEE.

Originally posted by Opet
Oh, I totally agree Metalmaster!