how loud is the band? (+ hearing problems)

batera

Oct 22, 2007
Some background is necessary to this question:

I've been playing drums for 10 years and my ears have taken a beating. All my musician friends are fine but for some reason my ears have become really, really sensitive and I absolutely can't play drums without earplugs. Loud noises hurt me, and if I see a live show, even just live jazz, I come out with really messed up, ringing ears. Simply listening to my headphones somewhat loudly makes my ears ring. So you get the picture.

I was thinking of going to a Symphony X show with my normal earplugs, but how loud does the band play? Do they play extremely loud such that the sound really goes through your head and vibrates your inner ear, because that might set off my hyper-sensitive hearing. It's a pain (literally and figuratively), but I have to take care of my ears at all costs. Thanks for any advice.

Some background is necessary to this question:

I've been playing drums for 10 years and my ears have taken a beating. All my musician friends are fine but for some reason my ears have become really, really sensitive and I absolutely can't play drums without earplugs. Loud noises hurt me, and if I see a live show, even just live jazz, I come out with really messed up, ringing ears. Simply listening to my headphones somewhat loudly makes my ears ring. So you get the picture.

I was thinking of going to a Symphony X show with my normal earplugs, but how loud does the band play? Do they play extremely loud such that the sound really goes through your head and vibrates your inner ear, because that might set off my hyper-sensitive hearing. It's a pain (literally and figuratively), but I have to take care of my ears at all costs. Thanks for any advice.