How many of you are self-taught bassists?

ballstix

Jul 5, 2009
Portland, OR
Seems like a lot of users here are one-man-band mutli-instrumentalists; I'm guessing a good deal of you guys are primarily guitarists? I personally just kind of picked up bass for recording purposes. Anyone else?

I learned playing guitar at first, but nowadays I play guitar mostly for recording and bass as my maininstrument.
I am a way better bass player than a guitar player, I even can't sweep on a guitar, but I can sweep on a bass...
Had a few lessons from my uncle (started playing upright bass with 15, played 10 years in an orchestra and in many different jazz bands, e-bass, too) that helped me alot.
Especially the right hand techniques, left hand is not a real difference to guitar playing (talking about e-bass, not upright).
The most good guitar players I know are acceptable bass players, but only a few of them play bass and not just a "4 stringed, downtuned guitar".
In my opinion it really helps to play groovy stuff at the beginning before trying to copy ultra technical guitar riffs.
This will let you think more "bassplayerish".

Just my 2 cents, and I don't want to sound selfish, there are way better bassplayers than me everywhere but the bass is the only instrument I am able to play that even guys that play it thereself think that I am acceptable and not just total noobs :D

when recording bass is on my list, i take a week long break from guitar (or even music) to transform myself into a bass player. referring to groove, or where to "meet the drummer", it's a complete different game than playing guitar.

Do any of you guys use fingers instead of a pick? I've been trying to develop my finger skills, but I'm fairly certain my technique is sloppy.

Using a pick is obviously natural after playing guitar forever. And Dandelium, you are so full of crap. Your songs are so awesome :p