How much should you really cut out of an amp sim?

Dec 10, 2012
Washington, DC
Title says it all, really. If you have a solid amp sim (in my case, the LePou ones since I have a mac and the X50 isn't out yet) and a good cab IR (in my case Recabinet and catharsis mostly), should you really have to cut the "mud" around the 300-500k and 800-900 k range that is so common on real amps and cabs? I've been following Ermz' systematic guide since I'm a beginner at all this, and it's true that even on a sim it does help the attack and clarity to subdue those frequencies, but I think it also makes my guitars too thin and "crispy" sounding. What do y'all do, generally speaking?

You don't have to cut, as in notch out, if its thinning things out. Just do some scoops. Mess around till it sits well. 200-500hz range is a starting point to look for mud, but you still need your ears to find, and subdue the offenders by practical means. Never just cut, because someone says "cut here".

roll off some of the highs either with a lpf or shelving and make dip somewhere around 2-4k if it still sounds peaky. cutting low mid frequencies in effect makes some of the higher ones more present.

you are not cutting mud out of the amp sims you are cutting mud out of the speaker sims. Lecto is great i think you need to experiment with the impulses

you are not cutting mud out of the amp sims you are cutting mud out of the speaker sims. Lecto is great i think you need to experiment with the impulses

I probably could have phrased it better, but you know what I mean. All IRs have some mud, but I guess what I'm trying to get at is whether you need to do the same relative amount of mud-reduction in the mids that you would with a real cab, or whether impulses remove some of that simply because they're not actual speakers being miced up.

And ^^ I do do a HPF and LPF of course, and I typically use a parametric EQ sweep to get rid of the "whistling" frequencies around 180, 400-ish and 4000.