how to get a professional guitar sound

soverin

NOPE NOPE NOPE
Oct 17, 2014
I've been recording my stuff since 2009 and my sound gets progressively better. But I am still far away from gettin a professional sound.

My guitarsound is still thin and has too much hights. It doesn't matter how much bass I throw in.

If I add a low pass filter, my guitars will lose presence.
I know some hobby-recorders whose sounds just kill. Massive lows, punches right in the face. How the f* do they archive this?
Im really struggling.

Here is my lastest recording as a reference:

The Rig I used for this:

Ibanez RGA42T
POD HD500
Reaper as DAW
Bass = Guitar, downpitched a octave and POD HD500 bass preset
Addictive Drums 2 (w/ some other samples)
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 (interface)

Last edited by a moderator:
I'm not sure if you mean "no matter how much bass i throw in" as in like, turning up the bass knob on the amp or "no matter how much bass *guitar* I add".

Concentrate on the bass and getting it to work in unison with the guitars. There should be a sort of pocket in the guitar frequencies that the bass will fill and give the low end punch you're looking for. Guitars without bass in a mix should indeed sound a bit weak, it's all about the interplay between them.

I usually go for the huge guitar sound - as close to the final product as possible with the least pregain possible - and then make 2-4 adjustments in an EQ (a high pass and a low pass always, then depending on how it sounds, i will cut around anywhere from 200-500hz and/or the "deathsaw" frequency around 3-4k where my ears get raped when doing a frequency sweep) Totally different for other people keep in mind, it's what works for me.

Multiband compression on the low-mids of guitars is your friend.

Aggressively high passing can clean up the mix for the bass to have room without losing much from the guitars (sometimes all the way up to 150hz depending)