i am an opeth newbie..please help me

i am kinda a newbie with opeth too, me friend told me to listen to them, so i did and i made a mistake, and for my first cd i bought Damnation, so when i bought me next cd Deliverance i was surprised, and i really didnt like the screaming, until i listened to the second song Deliverance i loved it, and now Opeth is my favorite band, and probobly always will be

Rose Immortal said:
And just because someone doesn't want to be a part of that particular audience (in this case Christian death-metal) doesn't mean they should tell those bands they don't have a place in metal...the solution is simple: if you don't like it, don't listen to it and don't buy it.

Exactly. Music is an expression of one (or a band's) person's feelings, emotions, beliefs, etc.

Don't like it, don't listen.

ChrisEmerson said:
hmm i got into in flames first (my first death metal band - before they got shit), and that band is what got me used to death vox. Listening to opeth was no big deal after that, i liked a lot of death metal bands before that.
actually i lied. the first death metal song i liked was Thyrfing - Dryckeskvade. Although i guess thats black metal. its still got growly vocals.

Mike's vocals are incredible whether you like growls or not. Most "death" vocals are terrible. Mike deserves alot of credit. he gets it from the death metal community of course but he should get it from everywhere. ie: Yngwie bores the shit out of me, but he sure is a good guitarist........

dorian gray said:
Mike's vocals are incredible whether you like growls or not. Most "death" vocals are terrible. Mike deserves alot of credit. he gets it from the death metal community of course but he should get it from everywhere. ie: Yngwie bores the shit out of me, but he sure is a good guitarist........