Similar to Opeth Bands?

ShaunG

New Metal Member
Oct 13, 2008
I'm fairly new to Opeth and their style of music. Correct me if I am wrong, but Opeth is considered progressive death metal? From what I have read there is no band that can match the talent and sound of Opeth, but there are some that have a similar sound to them. I am a huge metal fan, but not so much of the death metal/growling sound although I do love Opeth. I am not familiar with the progressive metal/death metal genre at all. I would have to say I like the lighter, more dark & melodic side of Opeth much more. What are some bands that have that sound? Some growls are absolutely fine as long as they do not over do it.

Agalloch reminds me alot of Opeth at times, although they're more of a black metal band. Ulver's "Kveldssanger"-album is kind of similar to Opeth's acoustic stuff. Check out In Mourning, too. Some of Nightingale's stuff might be worth checking out, too.
Hells, I'll let the experts here do the answering.

One of the best things about Opeth is their incredible ability to combine dark and light in a seamless fashion. I'm sure Opeth have enough "mellow" songs that you could make an outstanding compilation burn. Look at the death vocals as a musical instrument. There's a reason that Akerfeldt includes them, as well as the "clean". I think it's all a holistic approach to his composition, for what ever he is trying to convey with any song. Excellent songwriting and band. Don' let the vocals ruin your experience. After all, they fit almost perfectly. Give "Orphaned Land-Mabool" a listen.

1) Non Opeth Music Chat is the place you want to go ;)

2) Ikuinen Kaamos
Agalloch
Anathema (recent)
Antimatter
Edge of Sanity (albums: Crimson and Crimson II)
Dan Swano
Porcupine Tree (recent)
Riverside
Oceansize
Novembre
Ulver (albums: Bergtatt and Kveldssanger)

Thanks guys. The reason I posted here was because I figured some of you listen to these bands if you listen to Opeth. :headbang: