I Can't Explain Why I Can't Get Into Still Life

JesusChristPose

Logic Dictates
Oct 20, 2001
Pittsburgh, Pa
MAYH ~ I believe to be Opeth's masterpiece.

Morningrise/BlackWater Park ~ Just a notch below MAYH.

Orchid ~ A strong debut, just one notch below Morningrise/BWP.

and then Still Life...

Both The Moor and Godshead Lament are excellent tracks. The Face of Melinda is good, but after that, the rest of tracks do nothing for me.

I have listened to it over and over, just waiting for the moment where one of those tracks would "hook me" ~ but it never happens. I can't explain it.

I have been listening to it for over 6 months and have read the lyrics at times while listening to it...

The remainder of the songs just don't "hook me" ~ Example, take the song Karma, at the 1:00 minute mark where Mike's voice changes with the "Aaaaaaahhhhaaaah" then, the riff comes in...then "I have gone away....the bed is cold and empty..." That sends chills down my spine...I am hooked.

Besides The Moor Godshead Lament, Face of Melinda....what parts of any of the remaing songs "hook" any of you?

As a matter of fact, I believe it is in the song, Serenity Painted Death where Mike uses, for the first and last time I believe, that annoying "boing, boing" sound of the guitar...I can't find any part of that song to get into...the chorus is okay, but it just doesn't "pull me in" like so many other songs from all their other cds.

JCP I don't know how to help you man..

I mean Still Life is Opeth's masterpiece. I know you are a fan of progressive music and that's what makes it odd because I find Still Life to be their most progressive disc. I don't know if you don't like it just don't listen to it for a year and then pop it in one day and see how you feel about it.

I personally find every song to be quite amazing.

Brandon

Brandon,

What parts of the songs on that cd (besides the 3 I mentioned) "catch you" ? Read my previous reply if you are unsure of what I mean.