Iced Earth... Barlow.. Tim Owens..

Cheiron

Jan 11, 2006
I'm fairly new to Iced Earth. I haven't listened to their entire discography, but what I've heard has been great. My question is: What is with people always wanting Barlow back with Iced Earth? Does Tim Owens not do a good job? Are their styles very different?

To me Barlow is the voice of Iced Earth, the signiture style that made that band,like Jon's guitars. He is a hell of a cool cat too. everyone after even as good as Ripper is, he's not Barlow.

Bear

Cheiron said:
I'm fairly new to Iced Earth. I haven't listened to their entire discography, but what I've heard has been great. My question is: What is with people always wanting Barlow back with Iced Earth? Does Tim Owens not do a good job? Are their styles very different?
Very different. Ripper is an excellent vocalist. Everything he does on disc, he pulls off live. His work on the "Gettysburg" trilogy gives me goose bumps every time I hear it. However, to many, he's merely a Halford clone. And perhaps even more importantly, he's not Barlow. Consequently, he gets unfairly criticized.

Barlow, had a very unique voice and that voice became integral to Iced Earth's sound. He sang with more passion and feeling than anyone I've ever heard. He had range and power. He could go from heartbreaking, smooth lows to ear-shredding shrieks at the drop of a hat. Short of Tate, he's the finest Metal vocalist ever (IMNSHO).

To hear each singer at their best I'd recommend the following songs:

Barlow - Dracula (off "Horror Show")
Owens - High Water Mark (off "The Glorious Burden")

By the way, if you're new to Iced Earth, simply go buy everything from "Dark Saga" to present day and thank me later.

Zod

To be honest, my intro to Iced Earth was 'Glorious Burden' and instantly loved them because of Ripper's vocals... (not selling the guitar work short, I'm just partial to kick ass singers)