I'm new. Please help.

Thared

Oct 1, 2002
Louisiana, USA
Visit site
Hi. I'm new to Katatonia and I guess Doom metal all together. The only thing I have heard that is really "Doom" I guess is October Tide - Grey Dawn, and it is an amazing album.

My question is, what album should I listen to first from Katatonia so I can get to know them? Then second, Third etc...

If you like " Grey Dawn" you must buy " Brave Murder Day"!
I suggest you to give a look at the " Katatonia´s best album" thread...
Personally once I bought one of their albums I ended up to buy all the other ones, even if of course some rarities are still missing from my collection:cry:

Well thats the thing, I dont want to buy something I dont know. I havent heard this band at all until a few minutes ago when I went to mp3.com. I sure dont want to buy 10 cd's from a band if I dont know whats it's like first :)

I listened to some on mp3.com. Some from Tonights Decision and Last Fair Deal Gone down. Those mp3's were OK. And also 1 from Brave Murder Day, and I think I like this song a little more than the others on there. I'll have to listen to the others on mp3.com too.

Brave Murder Day

That album is turning into a classic.
There are numerous of other bands that try to copy the atmosphere on that album.. Rapture beeing the most famous example.

OK I listened to Drave Murder Day by Katatonia. All I can say is :D. This album is deifitly going on my "to buy" list. It's an amazing album. So Katatonia is "Doom Metal" right? I'm not too familiar with it, but if October Tide/Katatonia is Doom, I'm already in love with it. What Katatonia should I make my next to listen to? And are there any other bands like Katatonia/October Tide?

So now when you're through with Brave Murder Day i'd recommend at first you listen to the other 3 songs from "Sounds of Decay", because they're exactly in the same vein.