Jobs/Professions

The Ozzman

Melted by feels
Sep 17, 2006
In My Kingdom Cold
We had a thread like this a long time ago and I hate bumping threads that have been dead a long time so here we go.

We know Krow works for an oil company or something. We know CIG is a handyman. What do you all do?

I'm a business/quality analyst for an insurance company. I basically have to do two sets of tasks due to staffing concerns, but basically someone will submit a project to be worked on and it'll get assigned to me. I will go to the business partners who wrote the project and ask them what they want the ultimate goal of the project to be. Currently, I work with an administration system the company uses and write requirements based on enhancing or fixing the system. After this, I present the requirements to people in the company for approvals. At this point, a developer (programmer) is hopefully diligently working on writing the code for the fixes/enhancements. Once this is completed, I will test their code to make sure it both works and that it didn't break anything. I will report defects and then retest fixes for those defects as necessary. I will then write up a project summary and send to the business partners. After this, I move to the next project.

It's boring and sucks most of the time but I'm considered a subject matter expert and only two other people in the company know more about how this system works than I do so I have a little bit of knowledge power as well.

I work in management at a large international company that offers entertainment, hospitality, tourist attractions and vacation packages aimed at a variety of different demographics. I'm involved in collecting data, identifying inefficiencies, event planning and managing personnel on my team.