Just saw Attack Attack live

ahjteam

Anssi Tenhunen
Quick and short review of the gig.

Anyway, Attack Attack was the headliner, they got a massive back line (four Orange 4x12 full stacks double miced with 57 and e906 and two 8x10 Ampeg fridges single miced with b52) in a small club called Cabooze in Minneapolis. They had a new (temp?) guitarist and I gotta say that I just went to see and experience the band. Never really listened to their music and I'm not a fan. I know "stick stickley" and heard both albums a few times, but they were kinda "meh" to me.

But being an audio engineer I have the disease that comes with the profession; Almost all gigs sound fucking terrible or mediocre mix wise. I could say that it was one of the worst gigs I've ever seen, considering the above par technical equipment of the venue. They were unnecessarily excessively helluva loud, only thing I could hear clearly was the subdrops, melodic vocals and the click from the drums. The bass sound was only just low end rumble and chest resonance, the lead vocal mic fed back constantly and there was no definition on the guitars even when they were playing by themselves. But "surprisingly" the backing tracks sounded good.

There was 4 bands (Attack Attack, Pierce The Veil, Of Mice And Men, and In Fear And Faith) in there and if the vocalists didn't change, I definitely couldn't have told when the band changed. They all had the same stage maneuvers, sounded the same except they got gradually louder towards the end and the music was just something I wouldn't necessarily... Or actually never mind. I'll just keep it to myself.

Was it worth the 20 bucks and would I see them again? Probably not, but it was worth experiencing at least once. They were really entertaining band to watch, they made the crowd move, jump, mosh pit, crow surf and do some really weird shit like make huge amount of girls have a cat fight while being on someones shoulders :err: