Martin Lopez

junior_t_bob

New Metal Member
Apr 30, 2004
I've been playing guitar for 3 years, but listening and watching Martin on the DVD and the albums he's played on, I really wanna become a drummer. His use of the high-hat and the rest of the cymbals is simply awesome.

He's OK at best. You guys seriously need to listen to more drummers. Even for a metal drummer, he's just OK.

I have a tremendous amount of respect for him, both as a drummer and as a person. While I am not a drummer myself and I don't know what it takes to be one, I do know what I like, and his style definitely appeals to me. I don't really know and don't really care how he might "measure up" to others, although to my ear I think he's very good.

Well...I guess you would have to be a drummer to know how he measures up...

I think he's a very solid drummer. Just...solid. He's good, better than me. The thing I like most about him is that he plays his beats perfectly in time and almost never messes up. My problem with him, however, is that he never, NEVER does anything very original. He just plays generic metal beats, and while he plays them well, he just seems sort of lazy to me...like he could be much better if he wanted to...I really appreciated the sort of step up on Deliverance, but I still don't ever remember listening to an Opeth song and going "here comes that kickass Lopez fill...right here!". I don't know...for some reason I just don't like him.

Oh, and "The Lopez Beat" as people are calling it, actually got me to yell at my stereo because I've heard that stupid fucking beat in every other Opeth song. STOP USING IT, Martin, for god's sake.