My 2p about metal writing

Onder

Apr 10, 2006
Greetings.

I recently stumbled upon an article on a site called Metal Sucks (I don't normally go there) and I thought of certain annoying stereotypes that somehow go along writing about metal. I wouldn't react to that article on the site anyway and after seeing the author's note, it wouldn't really matter anyway.

IF U DON'T LIKE THIS POST THAN FUCK OFF,, I SERIASLY DON'T EVEN CARE. I'M BASICALLY JUST LIKE YEAH OK WHATEVER

But still, the article is here and I will use it as an example of what I have in mind. I'm only reacting to the first paragraph here as it's enough to get the point across I think.

With the exception of maybe classical, I cannot think of a genre more fixated on the past than metal. I’ve been listening to metal for 25 years, and from what I can tell, the metal scene has remained frozen in 1995. In contrast to other genres, who are all about what’s fresh, new and interesting, metal just seems content to keep talking about the same fucking bands year after year after year, and I just don’t get it.

1) How can you not think of other genres that are "stuck in the past"? What about country, pop, jazz, rap? I don't see a big difference there and this is my first point. People who write about metal as if it was some enlightening deep as fuck musical genre pretend they know it all but they rarely see outside of metal's borders. Or at least this is the feeling I get. Secondly -on the other hand- contemporary classical is making up more and more crazy new shit tbh. And I'm getting to the second point here:

2) Somehow people who write about metal think it's cool to at least mention classical every time. Probably because it seems elite and therefore it's an attractive comparison. However, classical is hardly even connected to metal and not more than other genres of music. The strongest bond is probably the introverted, specific fanbase.