My LP's Finally Arrived!!!!

Spike

Blinded By The Light...
Jul 15, 2001
Australia
Finally! I've Been listening to burnt copies of my brothers original Orchid, Morningrise, and MAYH, albums for about 4-5 years. My appreciation for Opeth finally passed a point where it felt fundamentally wrong to be listening to burnt copies of their work (about 4 years ago!). So I got off my lazy ass and went looking for places to back order their stuff, but they were impossible to find in Oz. Then I find out about the 're-release' of some of the bands greatest works, and $135 later I'm the proud owner of my first ever LP's!.:D

Here's a quick question for you folk's out there. Has ANYONE else on the boards bought the LP's as of yet?:confused:

As these are my first LP's and I've never used them before I've refrained form listening to these discs of aural bliss, so far. I've heard from time to time that apparently the 'first play' of an LP has superior sound quality to a CD but deteriorates with use. If so, I plan to use some tech an aussie company came up with and burn from an LP player with a line out (if I can find one!) at around 220kbps (the highest compression rate I can fit on a mp3 disc for their five albums, plus bonus disc).

If anyone has tried this, I'd appreciate any info you could hit me up with. Or any one whose actually listened to the LP's. Are they remastered, re-recorded, or did they just rip 'em off the disc and 'burn' them to LP.

Ciao!

Originally posted by Spike