Needing Advice From Seasoned Guitarists

Shaun 31

New Metal Member
Jan 16, 2004
Well, after about two months of viewing this forum I finally decided to register and talk music with most of what seems to be very open minded people. Took me long enough.

Anyway, I'm also new to guitar. I've been playing for about eleven days so far but really have improved at a steady pace. I've been going by this Classical Guitar Method book by Scott Tennant and nearly complete with the first volume. Been studying both classical techniques of the guitar and music theory like a drug really.
You read the thread title so you know why I'm posting this message (that's probably too long already) but I'm really just wanting some good tips for a beginner that picks up on things rather quickly and some techniques that could help me down the line.
I've been practicing 3-7 hours for the ten out of eleven days that I have owned this guitar, but recently after an entire evening of practice, I still feel as though I didn't do enough. I practice every song I have learned, all the right-hand techniques and left-hand (though this book is only letting me get the feel of the first four frets and all six strings until the next volume) I've done a few of the major and minor scales but nothing beyond that so far. But, I can say after five hours each day I feel like I've improved but at the same time as if I could have done more. Could I? Or is it the typical feeling of a beginner?

Advice on anything that will set me on my way of mastering the guitar will be much appreciated. Sorry for the length.

From what you wrote, I understand that you are studying classical guitar...
Why are you asking on a neo-classical metal forum, then? I'm sure you could get more help elsewhere...

BTW, when I started guitar, I didn't pay an excess of attention to practice. And I still don't think I should have. Theory is totally not me.