New Fan Alert - Introduction

Hail Odin! :kickass:

I'm new to Amon Amarth, I can only think to myself - how the hell have I missed such a band!

I accidently click on a link somewhere on one of the metal sites I visit and ended up on the official site, well after checking out some of the new vids I was hooked!

I've been into metal since the mid 80's, and over the years 'developed' my sub-genre of metal enjoyment :heh: One of the genres that had a big impact was Death Metal (my first taste was what a lot of people consider the 'Grandfather' of Death Metal - Deicide, early 90's) From this I've gone onto bands like Bolt Thrower, Obituary, Cannibal Corpse and into the present with bands like Nile, Origin and Bal-Sagoth.

There was another genre of metal that I'd started to 'get into' that was Black Metal, at first I wasn't sure, but sticking with it and the bands that lead the line as it were I became a 'convert' and started to understand the metal. This led me to a massive scandinavian onslaught of metal, and not just black, but back to my Death Metal - Bands like Blood Red Throne, Zyklon, Unleashed and now Amon Amarth.

I guess one other reason I can identify with the musical/lyrical content of AA's songs is the interest I hold with history in general, but more so due to my fascination with the history of the old world and how we in Great Britian were shaped by the Viking raids, more so with me living in the North East of England, an area rich in history! I would love to think my ancestors had links with the Vikings :headbang:

So what with my love of history, metal and real ales! :kickass: What better band to discover (and add their music) to add to my collection.