Noob question: Drum replacement

Apr 24, 2008
Hi there,
I'm new to the whole mixing/mastering thing (though i have some experience with tracking guitars/drums etc. ), and i'm going to get some mixing/mastering lessons by my guitar teacher ( professionel sound engineer), because in the next few months i want torecord my bands first demo. But i think this particular question You can answer better.
Well I read alot about drum replacement and i know you can do it with triggers, but after reading through this forum it seems you can also replace drumtracks that were not triggered, with some obscure software (drumagog/aptrigga)
so i did a lot of research in the web and on this forum, but i can't find a source that tells me actually HOW you replace your already recorded Drumtrack, and HOW you use drumagog/aptrigga.
Some help would be highly apreciated.
Because I would like to replace kickdrum and snare with samples from my drummers drumkit to avoid to much bleed from the rest of the kit.
thanks in advance Jan

hi jan - welcome to the board.

i'll take a stab at this, but i'm sure a few others with more experience will chime in as well.

first off, you're correct that you can use drum replacement software (e.g. drumagog, aptrigga, etc) with either triggered or acoustic drums. drumagog and aptrigga are both very good. both cost some money - with aptrigga being cheaper. i use a free drum replacer in my DAW, Reaper, but the last time i checked - aptrigga was like maybe $30 and drumagog was +150.00.