Opeth cds - I have them all now and...

JesusChristPose

Logic Dictates
Oct 20, 2001
Pittsburgh, Pa
I have finally listened to them all now...and I mean over and over and over. In fact, they are still the only group that I have been listening to for over 2 months now, at least.

About their cds...

First - they are all excellent.

Second - I can sure hear how they evolved since their first two cds.

Third - I have a favorite...it is still My Arms Your Hearse. I believe it to be their best because to me, it is the most complete cd of them all and what a closing number!

I enjoy the earlier sound of the first 2 and the newer sound of the last 2 - MAYH seems to have the best qualities of both of those sounds.

I rank their cds in this order...

1. My Arms Your Hearse
2. Orchid, Morningrise, BlackWater Park
3. Still Life

Just MO.

I still can't get over the production on MAYH. I don't like the sound.. It's the only thing keeping me from really enjoying the album. I loved the sound on the first two albums though.

Originally posted by The Suicider
I still can't get over the production on MAYH. I don't like the sound.. It's the only thing keeping me from really enjoying the album. I loved the sound on the first two albums though.

I can't hear anything wrong with the production, like Morningrise, once you get to know it and get used to the feel its done pretty damn well :confused:

It's very frustrating for me to listen to MAYH sometimes.. Other times it's fine.. But overall I still haven't gotten used to that muffled (??) type of sound on the rhythm guitars. The lead guitars don't stand out enough as well.. aw hell, I should probably just check my ears. Am I the only one who feels this way about MAYH? The guitars on every other Opeth cd just kick you in the face whereas on MAYH they just sound less energetic.