Opinions on Music Downloading/Piracy

Dred

His Dudeness
Jan 8, 2002
Massachusetts
Im doing a paper on online music downloading and the different arguments presented by trade publications, scholarly journals and online sources, and I'm hoping to use the board here as a source, so.....if you wouldn't mind going into detail with the questions...

1. What are your opinions on music sharing/downloading/piracy?

2. How do you view the opposing (to your own opinions) argument?
a. Do they present valid arguments?
-If so, what are some valid points they make?
-If not, in what way are they lacking and why?

youre feedback is greatly appreciated. Thanks
:worship:

I think downloading music can be good or bad. the bad news is it takes money away from bands that work hard to make thier music and put it out and get a label to sell it. if you download it you don;t buy the cds. however, i got into cob by my brother showing me some of their music and giving it to me (which is the same as downloading but not downloading, i recieved it for free) if he hadn't shown me them i would not have gone to thier concerts and bought HCDR and HB. So i'm kinda split on it, its good if you just download some songs after hearing about them and then like them and support them. but if you call yourself a fan and just download everything they have and don't support them at all then its bad. So its good for just getting the word out and hearing about bands, but its bad if people just take all the stuff and don't support the bands.

i think the riaa and mpaa are a bunch of greedy assholes.
also, i am very stingy and i know i save lots of money by never buying cds, especially since 15-20 bucks per album is a total fucking ripoff. maybe if cds were like 5 bucks a piece i'd buy em.. but no. each album including printing, pressing, and the case costs under a dollar to produce.