Orchestral metal.. Yes or no?

NecrosluG

Symphonic Metal Composer
Nov 22, 2006
The Grand Psychotic Castle
In your opinion , do you like it when metal is mixed with classical music elements creating thus a more great and complex metal style ?

I personally love it, I just wanted to ask your opinion on this one since I am an orchestral composer and would like to see the responce of people on the subject.

Is it something amazing beyond rational thought or is it something that requires a lot of work and talent but just doesnt work well on the heads of young metalheads ?

Is it something amazing beyond rational thought or is it something that requires a lot of work and talent but just doesnt work well on the heads of young metalheads ?
I agree with this, actually.

The more is not always better. You can't assume music to sound better if you throw in more instruments. Although it diversifies the overall sound.. you can have a single guitar and drums making something far more better sounding if they are used well. It all depends on how its done.

I've always liked it. I am not a big fan of some of the bands that do live albums with the orchestra (Except for Dream Theater's last live CD, that one was awesome). But I love the way Dimmu Borgir or Nightwish do it. It sounds so full.

Metallica probably wouldn't have sounded so bad if they still had their balls during that performance.

Yes.... not to mention the fact that those songs they were playing were written without orchestral elements in mind... so the orchestral parts seemed very tacked on and not part of the songs.
Metal with keyboards or orchestral instruments/arrangments that are written with those instruments in mind though is another story...

Vision is the key. Like with any music, if it lacks vision, it sucks. That being said, "orchestral metal" can be great when done correctly and not pretentiously.