Power Metal

TvNewsShooter

New Metal Member
May 27, 2003
Spokane, Wa.
Visit site
I've listened to Dream Theater for a couple years now (also Disturbed, Megadeth, old school Metallica, Static-X, Pantera, Rush, Queensryche, Etc.) And was looking for something similar to Theater to check out. I was told about Symphony X (classified as power metal i'm told) and bought a couple CD's. I love the technical aspects of both bands but am looking for something with a little more teeth. Not talking lyrics about ripping heads off of babys or raping your mother, just not really into all the fantasy shit. I'm a drummer at heart so it's very important that the drummer knows and uses his kit. Love the off time beats that progressive is known for. Shreading guitars but can be melodic at times too. A singer that sings not screams or growls. Also I could do without the "movie soundtrack music" and very little or no keyboards. Any Progressive or Power Metal bands worth a listen?

Spiral Architect and WatchTower (SA in particular) should fit your melodic progressive/technical needs. As far as just some down to earth power/heavy metal goes I'd recommend Rage (Black In Mind, Unity, or Trapped!) and you would also like Savatage (Dead Winter Dead, Gutter Ballet, or Hall of the Mountain King) as well as Tad Morose (Undead or Matters of the Dark).

for the proggy side of power check out symphony x, labyrinth, liquid tension project... they arent my thing but my guitarist loves that stuff.

to me, there are only 2 power metal bands that matter. blind guardian and manowar. nothing else matters
~gR~