Pro Cameras: Canon and Nikon

Mosquito

oh noes!!
Jan 23, 2002
Columbia, SC, USA
www.myspace.com
Ok, I'm seriously considering on purchasing a pro-digi cam now that my income is a little nicer. I've been using Nikon's at school for awhile now, mostly the D50 and D40 (I think...it's been awhile actually). Now, I would like to hear peoples opinions on Canon and Nikon. I'm actually leaning towards getting a Canon. Potentially the new rebel or the 40D, but I'm not sure yet. My main concentration will be low light shooting (Concerts). I'll use it for other things but low light is definitely going to be what I want it for. Id be interested to hear some input on lenses and flash use for concert photog since I'm not experienced in it. I know that The Fiddler and Esa have some fucking amazing shots, and honestly I'd like to hear a lot from you two. Hell, if you guys don't mind me PM'ing or emailing you, that would be even better to hear your thoughts. But I would like to hear anyones opinion on the matter.

Justin

I have a Canon PowerShot SD500 Digital Elf. (Yeah, it's a few years old - my sister just got something like the PowerShot 7000 or something for graduation.) It's very user friendly IMO and takes nice pictures. It has an indoor/lowlight setting and a nighttime/fireworks setting, but I really haven't explored all it has to offer as far as it's many settings and functions.

I can't use it at ProgPower since it's a digital, but it takes pretty good shots at most other venues I visit. (I was pretty sure that you were aware of the PP camera policy ban on digital cameras, but I figured I'd toss that thought in there just in case that's one of the concerts you were planning on using it at.)

Oh wait ... just realized you said "pro" digi camera. My camera's certainly not on par with anything like that. Still, I have heard from other folks that Canons in general are very user friendly.