ProgPower Drum Kit Question

MrBuzzcut

Mar 2, 2005
It appears all acts use the same drum kit ... This is understandable given the constraints of time and available backstage space at the venue.

As a drummer, I know how hard it is to play on a kit that isn't yours. You need the toms and cymbals at the right height and angles and all that crap.

My question to Glenn is: How do the drummers and techs for the ten bands adjust for this? I've never seen any PP drummer sound/appear tentative and would love to know how they deal with playing on a "foreign" kit.

:kickass:

I'll have to let Don (my lead drum tech) answer this as we have come along way since the Rullo incident at PP II.

However, I can tell you that we have a "cymbal cage" we have used the past few years that every drummer thinks is fantastic as you can adjust any and everything in minutes.

The "Rullo incident" I believe was when Macaluso beat the hell out of the drum kit during ARK's set and there were no replacement heads for Symphony X to use. I'm not sure if it caused the delay, though.

It appears all acts use the same drum kit ... This is understandable given the constraints of time and available backstage space at the venue. As a drummer, I know how hard it is to play on a kit that isn't yours. You need the toms and cymbals at the right height and angles and all that crap. How do the drummers and techs for the ten bands adjust for this? I've never seen any PP drummer sound/appear tentative and would love to know how they deal with playing on a "foreign" kit.

Two things.