questions about symphony x

caseyh21

New Metal Member
Feb 24, 2012
hello, i am new to symphony x, i absolutley love them but i have a couple of questions and i cant find the answers:
1. The Damnation-V: The New Mythology Suite albums, who is on vocals? that cant be russell alan, because his voice stands out so much like on the odyssey - iconoclast. is it michael romeo? or did alan just sound alot of differnt back then??

2. On V: the new mythology suite, all the classical segments, like on prelude, what language is the lyrics? "In articulus sic aeternus - Spiritus
donec dies fas
Dies Irae, Dies Illa - Solvet saeclum in
favilla"
Im not familiar with classic music.. but i would really appreciate it if i could get some feedback with this. thanks

The vocals are all done by Russ. This is why people are so upset about the last couple of albums; they don't like that he no longer sings the way he used to!

Personally, I think a combination of the two would be best... and there definitely needs to be more falsetto, i.e. Candlelight Fantasia, Awakenings, etc.

I'm surprised you couldn't tell it was Russ on the older albums, though, lol.

I do not know the answer to your other question, good sir/ma'am.

I think I can help you with the question no. 2

It´s Latin. Actually the part that you quoted ("Dies Irae, Dies Illa - Solvet saeclum in favilla", from "A Fool´s Paradise" if I´m not wrong) it´s taken from Guissepe Verdi´s Requiem:

I found the translation of that part, and it´s something like this i guess:

"The day of wrath (Dies Irae)
that day (Dies illa)
Will dissolve the world (Solvet saeclum)
in ashes (in favilla)"

As you noticed, the music from "Prelude" is also from Verdi :)

Last edited by a moderator:
Yes, but in "The Death of Balance/Lacrymosa", the Lacrymosa part is definitely an adaptation of a movement from the Requiem Mass in D minor by Mozart (not completed by him though).