recommend me a 5 string bass!

Fragle

Jul 27, 2005
Germany
hey,

already used the search function, but didn't exactly get what i was looking for..

anyways, aside from recording work i've been playing guitar for 8 years now, and i'm feeling an increasing urge to pick up bass, too :D

basically, chances are that i might join a brutal death band as the bass player soon, plus i'd also like to have a bass around in the studio in case anyone brings in a real shitty instrument.

i'm definitely looking for a 5 string bass, as i'm playing a lot of B tuned stuff.

so, any recommendations? i don't exactly want a super expensive instrument, more on the lower midrange side, but still something that is decent enough to record with in the studio.

i've heared a lot of good things about the yamaha rbx 375, which would also fit my price range very well :)
so, what do you guys think about that one?
any other/better alternatives?
edit: i'm also considering this one:
http://www.thomann.de/de/ibanez_sr305ipt.htm

also, it would be great if anyone could point out some aspects that i should keep an eye on too (like active EQ, pickup selection etc). i know next to nothing about basses as of right now...always considered them to be the enemy, haha ^^

thanks in advance!

edit: btw, the stuff i like to play (and the kinda style most bands that i'm recording play) is mostly death metal, ranging from beneath the massacre (dystopia bass tone is SICK, and is exactly like their live sound....) to suffocation kinda bands....with the occasional swedish death band here and there. so i guess it's mostly picked and rather distorted sounds i'm shooting for.

Hm.. I would happily recommend Warwick, Sandberg or Spector bass guitars (though they may be above your budget range).. especially for Death metal you can get a great tone out of these.
I'm using a passive Warwick corvette for 4 years now - and I'm very pleased with it's character so far. It costed me about 900 Euro.