Recommend me a loadbox please.

shred101

Nov 26, 2009
Ok... so basically I'm trying to escape from amp simulator world. I have a Laney Pro-Tube 30w and a Marshall JCM900-SLX 50w that I'd really like to use for recording with and I figure that getting a loadbox to use with the impulses I have will give me a way to get better sounds from my recordings. I've never used one of these things before so could use some advice.

I'd like something able to handle a pretty comprehensive range of power ratings as I'll probably get new valve amps in the near future. I don't really care about having a speaker output, volume control or whatever but a DI out would obviously be useful so I can run it straight through my interface and into an impulse without having to take a line out of the effects loop or whatever.

The main thing I'm not familiar with is how reactive vs. resistive fits into this context. I don't want my gear getting damaged for sure and I've read that reactive loads are more suited to valve amps. Does a reactive load offer that significant an advantage and can anybody recommend some products that fit the criteria mentioned above and don't cost £££££££? Thanks.

If you want a rackunit than go for Two-Notes Torpedo Live (~900€)

if that's too expansive than have a look at seperated loadbox and impulses:
loadbox -> Tone-Hound (139€)
IRs -> Redwirez BigBox ($125) or Two-Notes Torpedo PI-101 (~222€)
These two allow you to use your full amp inclusive its poweramp, because of reactive loads and impulses with no imprinted poweramps.

And if you want it the cheapest possible way..than just use this resistor + cable (9€+8€). But than your poweramp reacts not as a real one and you should only use the preamp-out/fx-send from your amp but you can use every free IR flying around here, because they have imprinted powerampsections. But this way isn't really an improvement from ampsims.