Recording College!

Jun 26, 2009
New Jersey
So the time in my life has come, college. I wanna go for the Recording Arts, Audio Engineering etc. I need some good colleges to go to. I am really appealed to Full Sail in Florida. I would like to go to berklee, but i dont consider myself a prodigy. I would like to go for a 2 or 4 year. Any halp? :yell:

Also what college did you guys go to for recording (if you have) and what was it like?

I'm doing an audio engineering degree since 4 weeks, and it's awesome. It's nearly free though because studies in Quebec (Canada) are cheap (it's costing me approximatively 250$ for a year). Nothing beats experience, but learning tips by professionals is really cool and helps a lot.

Well, most people in here will shun going to college for recording. As a recent graduate, I agree to a certain extent. I wish that I got a degree in something that would be likely to land me a day job. That way I could do audio on the side. But at the same time, I think the networking gained in school is invaluable. Not to mention the fact that if you go to a music school specifically, you will become a better musician. I think being a good musician helps in the engineering and producing aspect of the work. I don't think it is absolutely necessary to study music though to be an engineer...just helps...a lot imo.

I went to Shenandoah Conservatory in Winchester, VA. I had a good time there and learned a lot. It mainly focuses on jazz and classical music as most conservatories do. They just got an SSL Duality board and it kicks ass. The professors are very personable and knowledgable. There are a ton of recording opportunities there as well. You have to be willing to seek them out though. People need audition CD's made all the time. Live performances need to be recorded all the time. Catch with going to the conservatory is that you need to study music as the degree is as bachelors in music.