recording drums in a dining room, tips and concerns?

joeymusicguy

Sep 21, 2006
indiana
www.myspace.com
this week i plan to do something i've never done before, which is record drums in my dining room of my house.

i already know there are reflection problems i should be concerned about, but do i really need to worry about this based on the fact that i'm not actually keeping anything but the cymbal mic's in the final mix?

also, any recommendations of how to temporarily treat the room to get a decent cymbal sound and help eliminate the reflections??

i have a little money to buy some real-traps or something if need be.

honestly i will save money in the long run if i can record drums in my dining room instead of recording drums at the old studio (which literally involves tearing everything down at my current studio and moving it to the old studio just to track there).

I would at least throw a rug down under the drum set, and put some heavy duty blakets up around the kit too. We just hang 'em on spare mic stands.

High frequency reflections are easy to get rid of, however this doesn't mean there won't be a ton if you don't treat the room. I'd go with DIY panels. It will be pretty cheap if you're aiming at reducing high frequency reflections alone, as it is not necessary to have thick or dense absorbtion material. You'll have to be careful not to overdo it, since you don't want dull sounding OHs. An even simpler solution would be to strech some thick blankets across some microphone stands and see if that works ok.

If your sounds anything like mine, flutter echoes will be a big problem, especially on hte cymbals. I'd be treating the roof abit, as well as the walls/ floor.

Stand in the centre and have a snare hit or clap your hands. Treat untill you're happy with the results.

I recorded a drum tracks in a dining room a month ago, with lot of reverb and it turned out pretty well, without reflections or weird bleedings. I used 12 mics.