So i analyzed my kick, snare, and overall mix.. care to take a look?

Jun 2, 2005
Kick:

http://i45.photobucket.com/albums/f7...nalyzerTGM.jpg

Snare:

Overall mix:

Now i will compare the kick, snare with a lot of bands that i think have a good kick and snare.. see if i can come close to that.. always interesting and good to learn.. however, what do you all think of kick and the snare, and the mix?

What would you change?

Just trying to learn stuff here.. about frequencies, EQ'ing, and what they should sound and look like when analyzed..

Cheers!

^now you've only got to put
around them :)

btw, i have no experience with paz, so i'm also eagerly awaiting comments n stuff :)

He's showing the frequency analyzing of a few things. The kick and snare look great. The overall mix looks a little "loose" in the stereo image for my taste. However, your stuff sounds great, so it's not a big deal. Sometimes the image can look like yours and sound all whacked out.

Brett, the PAZ Analyzer is a really great tool, it lets you see what the instrument (snare, kick, bass guitar, guitar, vocals, etc.) is putting out frequency-wise, and where it's really at in the stereo image. It helps a lot when mixing to show you what is fighting with what, if you're ever pulling your hair out trying to figure it all out by ear and just can't seem to find the offending tracks. :) It's a great learning tool as well, it really shows you what your mix looks like.

~006

Well, the interesting thing is this.. comparing them to the big boys..

Again, here are my PAZ settings of the kick and the snare, leaving the mix for what it is for now.

Kick:

kickPAZanalyzerTGM.jpg

Snare:

snarePAZanalyzerTGM.jpg

Now here are the big boys:

pantera kick:

panterakick.jpg

Mnemic kick:

mnemickick.jpg

Fear factory snare:

FFsnare.jpg

And the pantera snare:

panterasnare.jpg

I just think this is pretty interesting, comparing them a bit, and using the PAZ analyzer, is pretty usefull.. just like 006 said..