Studio room design

Mar 11, 2005
England
Ive just bought a 3 story town house with plans to finally get all my gear out of storage and set up an overdub/ mix room on the third floor. Im aware that I will need to do some work on the sound proofing and acoustics of the room and Im already aware of a few threads about this already. My question is this; I work as a live engineer and was wondering if in the short term at least why shouldnt I use a graphic EQ to tune my speakers to the room, either to save on acoustic treatment or while Im waiting to have the work done. Obviously getting the room right is the best option but how 'wrong' is using a graphic and an analyser?

People will say - If you wish to run a professional studio, you should behave like a professional studio. But the fact is no room is perfect, and what listener listens in an acoustically treated room? A lot of engineers I know make sure that they identify what is wrong with the room / speaker placement and learn what it does to their mixes. I would imagine using eq pre speaker would not be a good idea, I realise I'm not fully answering your question. You certainly don't need loads of expensive acoustic tiles, and angeled ceilings and no paralell walls. The simple placement of furniture in the right place, speaker position and creative interior design can do wonders, and makes your studio more interesting than all the other, dark grey clinical rooms - unless you want that look. There is a great chapter in Mike Stavrou's book MIXING with Your Mind, that deals with listening to your room and building your studio to work with your space.

I will always try to find a solution from what I have rather than go out and buy loads of shit that sound on sound or audio media says YOU NEED! Unless of course you are pulling in international artists - they kind of like the xpensive treatments and fancy lights and whistles to justify the £1k a day they pay for studio space!