Suggestions on new guitar?

Vidaeus

Destroyer of gayness
Sep 6, 2002
Alice Springs, Australia
Visit site
Hey dudes, I'm a novice (read: never played guitar in my entire life) guitar player, and I'm looking to start learning. However, first I need to buy a guitar, but I need some advice. I'm looking at spending maybe around $500 Australian, around $250-$300 US, on a guitar and maybe around $100 on a cheapass amp, as I'm going to be living on campus in Uni, and I won't be able to crank it anyway. Oh, and maybe $100-$200 Australian on a multi-effects pedal or something like that. Anyone got any suggestions? Remember I've never played guitar before, and remember, all I'll be playing is metal, metal and more metal!!!
\m/!!!!!!!!!!

Hey man