Surplus monies .. what to spend on?

drew_drummer

Dancefap
Sep 7, 2008
London, UK
Hai guise! Sorry for the lame thread, but I'm looking for inspiration.

I've recently come into some cash; I've got £640 right now, and by the end of the money that could extend to about £800. I'm just curious what you think I should get to extend my capabilities for making epic metullz.

I've got access to the following:

(amp stuff)
Laney VH100R
Marshall DSL100
Marshall 2x12 cab with T75's, Marshall 4x12 with T75's, and a Zilla 4x12 with Vintage Centuries

(recording stuff)
Q6600 Hackintosh running Snow Leopard
Profire 2626
Digi 002

(microphones)
Shure Beta SM57A
Shure Beta 52A
2x Shure SM58's
2x SE Electronics SE1
T-Bone SC400
Rode K2
2x Rode M3

So in your opinion, what am I missing that is just so damn essential that I am an idiot and should kill myself because I don't already own it?

I'm partial to a new amp, but I'm a guitarist... we're always partial to new amps! I'm not sure if there is a genuine need for a new amp! I was thinking about upgrading to an i7, but to be honest... I don't really need the extra power, and there isn't that much difference anyway.

So what you reckon?

Get Nebula 3 Pro and AlexB's CLC & CLQ. Get the R2R Tape and Tape Booster libraries.

Make sure you have both Waves SSL and CLA packs.

Otherwise either:

• put the money in your Opal fund
  • get acoustic treatment
  • get even more acoustic treatment
  • put the money in your Fortin Natas fund

When I had money (centuries ago), I would usually do boring shit like, upgrade all of my cables to better quality / more durable ones. Upgrade the hardware in my rack or perhaps buy a new one if the old one wasn't cutting it. Make sure I had a surplus of strings, picks, etc.

You're starting to gig fairly regularly, so what about road gear (cases, racks, etc.) - that is, if you dont' already have this stuff.