the down side of VSTi drums

FIXXXER

¯\(°_o)/¯
Feb 18, 2008
Germany
this is bothering me for a while now and i
am not sure how to solve this problem.

as a hobby musician i was always bound to
using drum samples and virtual drum plugins.

i started with importing single shot samples
into sequencers and arranging them and then
moved to vst drums when these became available.

in the past i have owned all the popular drum plugins like
EZ drummer, superior 2, addictive drums, BFD 1, BFD2 and SSD4.

all this plugins are good but all of them have their weak points.
let it be the sound in general, the combination of kit pieces available,
or just other limitations like a sparse amount of recorded samples.

i thought picking the best parts out and combining them would work
but now i am at the point where i don't think that this will actually
ever work for me.

the problem with this is the missing uniformity!
every piece sounds good at it's own but together it's just a big mess.

i have tried to "glue" it all together by adding an uniform
reverb to all the kit pieces, but even then it still sounds way
to distracted and not like an uniform drum kit.

blending external samples (LSD drums, double impact drums)
into the full kits to mask the stuff i do not like about the
complete kits brings a little bit of improvement but it often
fails due to the barely non existend possibilities to add external
content.

i guess i am not the only one with this problem so it would
be nice to share some tips and tricks :)

for a better understanding here's an example:

i really like the cymbal sound from the metal foundry SDX but i absolutely dislike how any of the provided shells sounds like,
so i add external samples to the direct mics (kick, snare, toms) using TRIGGER. this sounds ok but it's missing uniformity.

to make it sound a bit more real i only replace the direct shell mics but i leave the original shell samples on the OH and room tracks.