the eighties... why wasnt I alive then?

metalmaidentasha

keep it metal
Jan 21, 2008
Glasgow
does anyone else wish they were there for the 80s?
it would have been great to have seen the best metal acts in their prime, yes?
even my mum and dad say the 80s were the best, and they are certainly not metalheads.
ii sounds like a pretty epic era. :headbang:

:lol: True, that!

...but your parents are correct IMO. I couldn't have picked a happier time to be a young dude. (I graduated highschool in 1982) Part of me would have liked to have been old enough to see the Beatles, Hendrix, etc etc. But overall for music & life, the 80's were perfect. As for sex, drugs, & rock n roll, the 80's were fun, it was a Pre-AIDS world, and IMO, people seemed to mingle more. Early 90's, at least here in the states, they seemed to stay within their own little groups @ outings. Metal was king, it was played on the radio, and there were SO many shows going on, you really had to pick & choose what you wanted to see each weekend. But yeah, I'm another one of those "dinosaurs" now, but that's why places like this exist! :headbang:

Been there done that, I do miss it for some reasons and do not for others.

Like J-Dubya said: Atari 2600, VHS, MTV was actually good, gas prices were low, no talking about AIDS, Iron Maiden ruled, vocalist didn't growl (except Cronos), horror movies were better, Black Sabbath had Dio, Metallica was good, I had long hair, less belly and could headbang faster :D

Long live the 80's!

I've really liked every era of my life, I feel lucky that way.

But yeah, the 80s were really pretty good in ways. One thing I kind of miss sometimes, as weird as this may sound, is a world with no Internet. Bands were a little more mysterious back then, because all of your info had to come from magazines, and most metal magazines were pretty crappy. Now you have 24 hour access...and it just changes the mystique.