The missing sound

Kenneth R.

Cináed
Oct 28, 2004
Hallways of Always
When bands record guitars, and also bass, they mic the amp (or just do a line from a rack or whatever they are using). What you get is not what you hear though, because the sound of the player actually hitting the strings with the pick is lost. or in the bassist's case, fingers moving. there is of course hand movement sounds if they are rapid enough, but the picking interaction is totally lost.

why then do people not mic this sound as well and add it to the mix for a more realistic tone? since as a musician, i hear the pick when i play. it adds definition and seperates strokes with clarity, but then upon checking out the recording, some of that is lost. i think (and on my record i shall) bands should take this often ignored, lost sound into account...

i can see it being subtle/trivial but i find it could really improve the sound.

i have recorded some stuff from my amp while accidently picking up some actual picking sounds. i was too close to the mic...and i must say, it sounded quite shitty. it was a very thin, and annoying click sound...it sounded like an acoustic simulator or something. but, i suppose that actually taking the time to incorporate that sound into the mix could be neat.

My friend recorded an entire song with an electric guitar through a microphone, and OH BOY did it sound like shit. All I could hear was CLAP CLAP CLAP from the damn strings because he uses a small pick and is too stupid to realize that he's holding the pick the wrong way.

I don't think it would be bad as long as they don't pick TOO HARD. That can get very, very annoying.

It's a shitty annoying sound. It isn't musical, and the pickups themselves get enough pick attack from the strings. There's absolutely no need to hear a plastic 'slap, slap, slap' constantly.