The Official SLAYER Appreciation Thread

lurch70

Sep 27, 2002
NYC
After reading an interview today with Jeff Hanneman HERE, I began to realize what true legends Slayer truely are.

I have been listening to them for almost 20 years and they rarely have dissapointed. Even if they released some mediocre records lately they sure have made it up with some killer live shows. In fact in my 20 or so years of concert going I have yet to see a band more killer live than Slayer. NOTHING beats SLAYER live ... nothing. They never have dissapointed, never have seemed to have an "off night" and even now that they are close to 40 years old, they still play with the same intensity as when they were 18.

No fucking therapy sessions, no fucking self reflecting songs, no bullshit. Just pure intensity. Just 4 guys, 4 dudes, just balls out thrash metal. They know what their fans want and give it to them. I would compare them to AC/DC and Motorhead as far as having true rock'n roll flowing in their veins.

And now that the original lineup is back together I am sure they will deliver an amazing release.

There is still not one record in my collection, and I went through a lot of them in 2 decades of metal listening, that has surpased the intensity of Reign In Blood upon first listen. Nothing has blown me away as much as that record. It still gives me goosebumps and makes me want to run over people every time I put it on.

The next time they come around on tour, I promised myself that I will make it to the front row and sing my balls out to every song. Just one last time ... to my favorite band ever. Fucking SLAAAAAYYYYEEER!!! :worship: :headbang:

Show No Mercy rules. I debate whether I like it or Seasons in the Abyss more, but both are great. I have Reign in Blood and a couple live albums too, but I never got hooked by RiB, maybe I never gave it enough time.