Things you like in Amorphis?

Tuuletar

Amokala
Dec 16, 2012
Finland
wolverica.deviantart.com
To me the main thing is probably their "uncategorized" musical style, I find this kind of combo of metal and various influences from other genres intriguing. I like especially those folk influences, they bring certain feeling in the songs. In this way I have even become interested in those other genres and my music taste has become much more wider. And somehow the mood of their music (and lyrics) is also very inspiring to me.

Gigs are the another thing. I like that certain atmosphere at their gigs and I actually started to properly like the band after seeing a couple of live performs. Maybe it tells something, heh.

Third thing which comes to mind, are their album artworks. As long as I have listened to them, I have also liked this nature-themed stuff - I think that they fit the mood of the music well.

I've never seen them live and i'm relatively new to their music, but I like how they can incorporate a lot of different styles while still having their own sound. They have some songs with very strong folk influences and others with not as much but it all seems natural, with nothing coming out of left field.

Plus (at least from Eclipse onward) I love how powerful and emotional the singer's voice is (it's a bonus that he screams, and that they are added in artfully rather than sticking to a formula). That's what drew me in to their music actually.

I really like the lyrics too and how well-written they are and that they tell a story.

Things that initially attracted me to Amorphis are not overly present in their music nowadays. It was the gloominess of the earlier releases (Tales in particular), the 'watery' production and feel of that album, and the unique atmosphere it created for me. I also linked Amorphis with some...well, let's say specific 'childhood' (more like early-to-mid teens) memories which I cherish.