Toto or Queensryche? (Two Chicago-area shows on close dates!)

Bear said:
As for Shredding, dude I have been playing guitar for 25 years and I think maybe that I might have an idea what its all about, hence the name of my website and the way I play. Stone and Wilton were shredding in harmony (remember NM156 & Screamin in Digital?) , wait till you see the DVD.

Bear

So...you would rate Stone/Wilton's masterful shredding performance above a John Petrucci performance?
It's my belief that you'll never see those 2 on a G3 tour...l could be wrong.

Ascension said:
So...you would rate Stone/Wilton's masterful shredding performance above a John Petrucci performance?
It's my belief that you'll never see those 2 on a G3 tour...l could be wrong.

You obviously take me wrong...Never would I even compare them to each other....

I saw G3 3 times. Petrucci is masterful we all know that. The more I grow as a player and the older I get however, his playing it seems as has become mostly mechanical. I am watching Score right now, and its all like numbers now, alot of the feeling is gone from the early years in my opinion.

I am into the likes of Vinnie Mooore, Greg Howe, Tony Macalpine, Schenker too and I think all of those guys could show Petucci a lesson in feeling. Again just my opinion

Bear

I really agree with you on the last post Bear. I feel Petrucci's playing has really left the emotion, and feeling, and become really mechanical sounding. INCREDIBLE no doubt, but man where is the heart and soul in his playing nowadays!!??

Its like they got this amazing legion of fans who would spend 1,000s on buying there shitty underwear, and know that they can release an album of burping if they want and the fans will go rabid.

Also as posted elsewhere someone mentioned how they tour way too much, and then just enter the studio and hit the record button. IMO this has pummeled them in the songwriting category.

Such a shame. I always said DT should look at old DT for inspiration corner.