Triggering/electronic drums and general metal drum production.

Hello there, I am currently studying for a degree in recording arts and I am currently researching for my thesis. My subject is

The evolution of drum production with specific reference to Rock and metal music.

I was just wondering if there are any good books or websites whereby I can find out about the different production methods for the drums in rock/metal for example...

Using triggers
Electronic drum kits/pads
Sound replacer (Pro Tools)
Different mic placements, which set out to create specific artistic vision
Different mixing methods to create artistic vision

Also I would like to find out about the different trends in the drum recording aspect in metal. For example the early 90's Scott Burns drum production - no mids, or the full on in your face drum production which Mr Sneap is so great at creating.

I would love to know if there are any sources which can help me to find out this kind of information and would be extremely grateful if any of you guys could lead me into the right direction.

Also just out of interest, what are your guys opinions on drum triggering/electronic drums for live or studio use?

Do you see it as cheating?
Does it take away the human nuences which a drummer gives in a performance?
Does it make recording the drum kit that much more easy and hassle free?

And also I'd like to know what you guys think about Nick Barker of Cradle of Filth/Dimmu Borgir using an electronic drum pad for his snare. Do you feel this is ok?

Cheers guys. Dan.

nick uses a real snare.. i know, i've recorded him recently... it does have a trigger on it, like most metal and rock guys these days

didnt nick use a pad for the dimmu stuff? he is on the vids i have, its the roland pad. i know he didnt for lock up or cradle though.