Which metal?

HaloSlayer

Feb 5, 2008
Pasadena Maryland USA
I have been listening to Metal in one form or another since I was 9 years old and my older cousin took me to an AC/DC concert in 1980. Back then you had like 5 different kinds of metal.

Metal: AC/DC, Judas Priest, Black Sabbath, etc

Heavy Metal: Iron Maiden, Celtic Frost, Metal Church, Merciful Fate,etc

Speed Metal: Metalica, Megadeath, Anthrax, Nuclear Assualt, Testament, Overkill, etc

Thrash/Powerslob: DRI, MOD, SOD, Destruction, Wargasm, Violence, etc

Death Metal: Venom, Slayer, Kreator, Vader, EOS, etc

But now there are like 30 (and that is not an exageration) types of metal. It is like every band has their on genre of metal now. When did this happen? You have everything from Grind Metal (which was slang for garage band metal in the 80s) to Black Metal and Skate Metal and Lite Death Metal and Viking Metal and Industrial Metal and Net Metal and Green Metal and Punk Metal and Swedish Metal and the list could go on forever. When did every band get their own category?

well, i think a key of success is to be uniqe, and having that option makes them get big.
cuz somtimes people want something differnet

my fav. is folk/pagan/celtic/viking metal, now that wasn't there back in 1980's (i guess)

Those genres you provided are all wrong, but anyhow...

Metal sort of naturally evolved. Got more complex over time. That's how things work.

i dont think the genres he provided are so wrong.,, actually it's kind of right putting in mind that he's providing this information as if he was in the 80's