Who here has rack units in their guitar rig?

dan weapon

Planet Smasher
Nov 14, 2005
Aberdeen
www.myspace.com
I'm considering getting a rack to bolster my rig, and also to get a few pedals off the pedalboard (maxon OD, noise gate and tuner for example).

For those into this sort of rig-of-doom quest;

What rack units do you own, and/or what are the essentials?
How is it controlled, i.e. midi?

Feel free to share in depth details and/or photos of your rigs!

Hey Dan, I'm a drummer so you can take what I say with a pinch of salt if you like, but the guitarists in my band have always used rack-rigs and are actually in the process of upgrading.
MIDI controlled is the way to go IMO, but you can run into certain problems depending on what amp you're using ie. how can you switch channels AND enable/disable effects at the same time etc.
It depends if you're comfortable with multiple pedal presses (change channel & enable effects). I know that the guitarists in my band pushed our tech/engineer for a one press solution, but it seems that it really depends on the amps you're using too - something to do with the channel relay.
AFAIK, a Dual Rectifier would have no problems due to it having all of the required circuitry, but the only solution I could think of for a 6505 (I'm hoping I'm wrong and someone can correct me) would be to have 2 of everything on your MIDI pedal board, the first one would change the channel (using an external relay) and enable the effect. The second one would enable the effect without switching channel - useful for when you might want to stay on the clean channel and switch between multiple effects.
I could be talking a load of shite so I'll leave everyone else chime in! :)

I don't have that much faith in computers to use them in a live setup!

I dont have that much faith in drummers to use them in a live setting:lol::lol::lol::lol::lol: