Why is it so hard to find band members? v. rant

JonWormwood

Jun 16, 2007
Jax, Fl
Sure when I started playing years ago in junior high, I had a bunch of friends who also started and it was the usual guys I was going to be in a band with and take over the world or some shit.

10 years later, they hardly play, in the military, turned to drugs etc. It's been such a pain finding people to even jam with. They are either 30+ years old with 2 kids and a bitchy wife or just don't give a fuck. It's just a shame to see my best friends who would rock out for hours a few years back not even care anymore. I don't know, maybe they've grown up or something.

I'm probably not looking in the right spot or something. It's hard enough finding good musicians but even harder to find those who are into and play metal. It's always a blast jamming with some guys on the acoustic or some I IV V progression but it gets old. I almost want to make the move to Berklee (but I know I'll be in years of student debt) or just say fuck it and go Finland or something. Musicians everywhere up in that bitch. :lol:

Rant over.

I'm in the same boat. All my friends that I grew up with (all basically musicians) quit. I even have most of there gear. It does suck, people go in different paths and that child hood dream gets fucked. There are very few that love music so much they can't imagine life with out it...... no matter what the consequences! :kickass:

Can you imagine if we had our own little Sneap continent? There would be so many fucking KILLER bands if we combined members of this forum.

I know there has been a few bands to come out of here that are wicked (namely The Unrest) I'm hoping to find some guys and meet up to put something together. I'm getting desperate. o_O