Why Nevermore Rules:

Pure Evil

Poison Godmachine
Aug 31, 2001
Brooklyn, NY
Nevermore - THE kick in the ass metal needed. The most original band to come out of the 90s. It has everything I ever wanted in music: heavy, brutal guitars, the greatest drumming I have ever heard, a vocalist with such a unique voice, who writes possibly the most intelligent lyrics I have ever read, to half of which I can relate, and pounding bass. When I listen to this band, endorphins are released throughout my body and I feel good all around and get very energetic. Every word that comes out of Warrel's mouth is sheer poetry, and makes you stop and think. His choice of words is so precise and so perfect. Jeff's guitar work and song writing technique is probably the best example of a musician who was self taught and what countless hours of hard work and practice may accomplish you one day. Van's drumming is just top notch. I think he is a more interesting drummer than Mike Portnoy, and has some of the best incorporation of the whole set i ever heard, especially his cymbal work. Jim's bass playing ties the whole band together musically, keeping great rhythms and providing great grooves that make you wanna jump up and break things, like This Sacrament. From heavy to mellow, from brutal to beautiful and melodic, this band has it all. I am very glad that I took a chance on them that one faithful day last november. And although I didn't like them that much at first, something kept compelling me to relisten to the album over and over, until its beauty and essence finally broke through and changed my musical life forever.

Interesting opinion.

Nevermore have got something special going, but i don't know if it's the most original music around....?

Van suits the music very well.... but both Gene Hoglan and Richard Christy could kill him at playing.... TWICE!! :lol:

Yes, warrel is a damn good singer, and POE and DNB lyrics are very insightful, and some of DHIADW.