Young Musician, Need advice

Slavematic Sound

7 String Bassist
Sep 14, 2004
Atlanta,Ga USA
I'm 18 and i'v been playing Bass for about 6-7 years now, and around a year and a half ago I started Playing a Conklin GT-7 string Bass. Its hard for me to find other Musicians (around my age) that can keep up with my songs. I'v been writeing Music since i was 10 and I have around 50-70 Songs just waiting on a Band to Create them with. I can play All styles of Music Rather naturally,and I practice about 2-4 hours a day.

Right now i'm working on a new Style of Music that i'm wanting to call Grunge Metal. Influenced by Nirvana, Opeth and Old Metallica, i'v got many many songs that will surely live up to the Grunge Metal Name. At the Same time my music is written just Clean enough for mainstream.

As we all know bands like Blink 182 and Hoobastank suck, but they are whats happening right now. In the late 80s Hair Bands ruled the world, as now Bubble gum Rock does. As we all know Bands like Metallica and Nirvana killed the hair bands. History will repeat its self and a new style of Rock will emerge. Rather or Not Grunge Metal will be this tool of Mass destruction to those skilless momma's boys, I think my Music will.

Anyway, cut the Bullsh!t. I cant find a damn musician in my area that can do what i can, and thats willing to spend as much time as me doing it. If i dont have a band i'll never make it, and where i come from if i dont make it, then i have nothen forever. At the Moment i'm working my ass of doing the fu<king 9-5 delivering office fruniture, saving all my funds. The only thing i can think of is to Record a few tracks and spend my money traveling to NYC and/or Cali and try bypassing security to hand my tape to Big names in the Record Lables.

I dont know how to go about makeing it any other way. I only need to be heard once by the right person (this i know). But When your a bass player people dont tend to take u seriously.